When Will Justice Transcend Race?

blm
Two women protesting as part of the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement.
(Photo courtesy of Otto Yamamoto via Flickr.)

Thursday, October 13, 2016 (Issue #1)
by Octavias McKoy, Associate Managing Editor

.   .   .

My uncle is a police sergeant for the New Haven Police Dept. in Connecticut. New Haven traditionally is one of the most crime-ridden cities in the state. He’s married to a beautiful white woman who I’ve grown to love dearly. I have three little biracial cousins who I’d die for, along with any other of my family members.

Why?

Not because they’re white, so they need to be treated differently, but because they are my family. My Uncle is one of the fairest men I know because he does not believe in racial separation. He believes in right and wrong, and that’s why he’s been able to hold a prominent position in his department.

Through him and many others, I’ve learned the importance of character and seeing only one race: the human race.

I have always seen things in this light, so after a heated debate with a classmate of mine, I realized that individuals get into coils over their unwillingness to agree to disagree.

Yes, everyone is entitled to their opinions and beliefs, but at some point we have to state truths.

There’s the truth, and then there’s people’s blatant disregard and chosen disagreement with that which is true.

I went home after my heated debate and asked myself: What did he say to trigger that type of reaction? Was I wrong for how I reacted? Could I have tried to listen a bit more?

I was surprised with the answers I gave myself.

The statement he made triggered an angry reaction from me because I admitted to myself that, yes, I was angry about the recent police-involved shooting in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

In my opinion, the shooting was senseless and unjust. His hands were up. To me, there is no way anyone with the intentions of hurting someone else can accomplish that with their hands in the air.

I was angry because as an African-American in this country, educated in this country, I cannot remember a time where my ancestors were ever in a position to be a physical, mental, emotional or any other kind of formidable threat to “White America.”

To me, it seems as though we’ve been getting killed for simply wanting to be treated fairly. We want to be able to leave our homes in the morning without fear of dying by the hands of the same people put in place to protect and serve all American citizens.

Maybe my definition of “all” is different from yours, but here meaning “to refer to the whole quantity or extent of a particular group or thing. Yet, for some strange reason there are still people who do not see African-Americans as a part of the “all.”

We have to still prove that we can hold the same positions as our white counterparts, which is astonishing. How can people in the right state of mind condone the killing of anyone with their hands raised up in submission?

Regardless of their ethnicity, that is wrong. Every single day of my life I fear that just driving my car to work to support my family can get me killed. That is a real fear for every African-American in this country.

Leave a Reply

